Free Case Evaluation

Fill out the form below to get in touch with one of our attorneys.

Send
Client Testimonials Case Results Visit Our Blog
Meet Our Attorneys
Lee Ciccarelli

Lee Ciccarelli

Lee Ciccarelli is the founder and managing partner of Ciccarelli Law Offices with over two decades experience as a practicing attorney.

Joshua Tebay

Joshua Tebay

Joshua Tebay is an experienced attorney and former prosecutor licensed to practice in both Pennsylvania and New Jersey.

Michael E. Houghton

Michael E. Houghton

Michael E. Houghton brings both passion and enthusiasm to criminal defense through his extensive knowledge and experience.

Timothy Kraeer

Timothy Kraeer

Timothy Kraeer is a highly experienced traffic attorney who handles related criminal and civil matters across the state.

Ann DelCollo

Ann DelCollo

Since 1992, Ann has been advocating for her clients both in and out of tough courtrooms of Philadelphia, which has cultivated her craft.

David Strenfel

David Strenfel

David Strenfel is a highly experienced attorney who focuses on trial advocacy, constitutional law, and criminal defense.

Jonathon Luff

Jonathon Luff

Jonathon Luff has successfully represented countless clients and gain freedom for many wrongfully accused individuals.

Office Locations
Our Locations
Primary Location
A
304 North High Street West Chester, PA 19380
Secondary Locations

These locations are available by appointment only

B
1515 Market St., #200 Philadelphia, PA 19102
C
135 East State St. Kennett Square, PA 19380
D
600 West Germantown Pike Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
E
1489 Baltimore Pike Ste 221 Springfield, PA 19064
G
101 Lindenwood Dr, Ste 225 Malvern, PA 19355
H
150 N. Radnor Chester Rd Ste. F200, Radnor, PA 19087
I
313 West Liberty St., Ste 341 Lancaster, PA 17603
Reasonable Fees

Our firm provides excellent services at reasonable fees and accepts a variety of payment methods, including most major credit card providers.

We accept payment from most major credit card providers, including Via, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover
Superb Avvo Rating

Lee Ciccarelli has received a 10.0 (Superb) rating on Avvo, the highest possible rating for attorneys on the site. This rating is given based on client reviews, peer endorsements, and professional experience and credentials.

Avvo Top Attorney Criminal Defense

Underage DUI

Pennsylvania has a Zero Tolerance law for motorists who are younger than 21 years of age, meaning any amount of alcohol in an underage driver’s system constitutes a criminal offense. Furthermore, a minor may be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if he or she has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.02 percent or more.

If a person under the age of 21 is convicted of DUI, it can have a profound impact on his or her life. In addition to possible imprisonment, fines, and insurance ramifications, this charge will also lead to a criminal record that can dramatically alter a minor’s future employment and education.

West Chester Underage DUI Lawyer

Were you or your child recently charged with DUI in Pennsylvania? Prosecutors and judges will look to send messages to alleged offenders who are under the age of 21.

The Chester County underage DUI attorneys of Ciccarelli Law Offices fight to achieve the most favorable outcomes for minors facing these charges in West Chester and such surrounding areas as West Caln, Easttown, Coatesville, Phoenixville, and West Goshen. We will provide a free, no obligation consultation to review your case and discuss your legal options as soon as you call (610) 719-3200 today.


Chester County Underage DUI Information Center


Back to top

Underage DUI Charges in Pennsylvania

There are multiple laws under Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes that deal with minors operating motor vehicles while under the influence of alcohol. The criminal charges an underage driver would face depend entirely on his or her BAC.

The Commonwealth’s Zero Tolerance law is enforced under 75 Penn. Cons. Stat. § 3718, which states that a minor who drives, operates, or us in physical control of a motor vehicle while having any alcohol in his or her system commits summary offense. However, 75 Penn. Cons. Stat. § 3802(e) makes it such that any motorist under 21 who has a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher is charged with DUI.

Ordinarily, DUI crimes are classified under one of three tiers, depending on the BAC. Whereas motorists who are of legal age need to have a BAC of at least 0.10 percent to be classified as having a high rate of alcohol, however, a minor is subject to this classification if he or she has a BAC of 0.02 percent.


Back to top

Underage DUI Penalties in Chester County

If a minor had a BAC higher than 0.00 percent but less than 0.02 percent, then he or she will be charged with a summary offense punishable by a fine of $100.If the BAC was 0.02 percent or higher, then the criminal charge of underage DUI can be much more serious.

Alleged offenders who are under the age of 18 will be punished under Pennsylvania’s Juvenile Act, often resulting in being ordered to pay a fine and serving a term of probation. However, those who are at least 18 but less than 21 years of age can face the following punishments:

  • First Offense — Punishable by a term of imprisonment of not less than 48 hours and not more than six months, fine of not less than $500 and not more than $5,000, driver’s license suspended for 12 months, up to 150 hours of community service, mandatory alcohol safety school attendance, and compliance with all drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed under 75 Penn. Cons. Stat. §§ 3814 and 3815
  • Second Offense — Punishable by a term of imprisonment of not less than 30 days and not more than six months, fine of not less than $750 and not more than $5,000, driver’s license suspended for 12 months, up to 150 hours of community service, mandatory alcohol safety school attendance, ignition interlock device for one year, and compliance with all drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed under 75 Penn. Cons. Stat. §§ 3814 and 3815
  • Third Offense — Punishable by a term of imprisonment of not less than 90 days and not more than five years, fine of not less than $1,500 and not more than $10,000, driver’s license suspended for 18 months, up to 150 hours of community service, mandatory alcohol safety school attendance, ignition interlock device for one year, and compliance with all drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed under 75 Penn. Cons. Stat. §§ 3814 and 3815
  • Fourth or Subsequent Offense — Punishable by a term of imprisonment of not less than one year and not more than five years, fine of not less than $2,500 and not more than $10,000, driver’s license suspended for 18 months, up to 150 hours of community service, mandatory alcohol safety school attendance, ignition interlock device for one year, and compliance with all drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed under 75 Penn. Cons. Stat. §§ 3814 and 3815 

It is important to keep in mind that if an underage driver’s BAC exceeds 0.08 percent, he or she can be subject to the same penalties as adult drivers charged with DUI.


Back to top

Additional Pennsylvania Crimes Associated with Underage DUI

When a minor has been charged with a drunk driving crime in Pennsylvania, there is a good chance that he or she will face additional charges for other offenses. These other crimes may be used for leverage by prosecutors in plea bargaining negotiations, but they can also lead to additional fines or other consequences.

Some of the other crimes that alleged underage DUI offenders may be charged with can include:

  • Purchase, Consumption, Possession or Transportation of Liquor or Malt or Brewed Beverages, 18 Penn. Cons. Stat. § 6308 — This is a summary offense for which a first violation is punishable by a fine of up to $500, up to 90 days in jail, and a 90-day suspension of driving privileges. A second offense can result in a maximum fine of $1,000 and a possible one-year suspension of driving privileges, while third or subsequent offenses will lead to driver’s licenses being suspended for two years.
  • Carrying a False Identification Card, 18 Penn. Cons. Stat. § 6310.3 — This is a summary offense for which a first violation is punishable by a fine of up to $300, up to 90 days in jail, and a 90-day suspension of driving privileges. Any subsequent offense is classified as a third-degree misdemeanor. A second offense can result in a maximum fine of $500 and a possible one-year suspension of driving privileges, while third or subsequent offenses will lead to driver’s licenses being suspended for two years.
  • Restriction on Alcoholic Beverages, 75 Penn. Cons. Stat. § 3809 — Any operator or an occupant in a motor vehicle who is in possession of an open alcoholic beverage container or consumes a controlled substance or alcoholic beverage in a motor vehicle on a Pennsylvania highway can be charged with this summary offense punishable by a fine of $25.

Back to top

Find an Underage DUI Lawyer in West Chester

If you or your child has been charged with being a minor who was operating while under the influence in Pennsylvania, you will want to be sure to have proficient legal representation for help in obtaining the best possible outcome to your criminal case. Ciccarelli Law Offices has offices in Radnor, Plymouth Meeting, Kennett Square, West Chester, Lancaster, Philadelphia, King of Prussia, and Malvern.

We fight to defend clients in Chester County, Philadelphia County, Delaware County, Lancaster County, and Montgomery County. Call (610) 719-3200 to have our Chester County underage DUI attorneys review your own case during a free, confidential consultation.

What Our Clients Have to Say
Criminal Defense
Criminal Defense
Criminal Defense
Criminal Defense
Criminal Defense
Criminal Defense
Criminal Defense